My short Nexian romance

I have to admit, I did not expect my journey through Nexus to end so soon. Back in beta I imagined to write regularly about my experiences with Carbine’s little wild child of a game, but apparently it wasn’t meant to be.

Sad Bigby is sad.
Sad Bigby is sad. Poor baby, I’ll miss you.

After I left that sad wreck that once was SWTOR (I now refer to it as Shopping Simulator) I missed playing online, I missed a game I could truly dedicate myself to – then, how convenient, WildStar and TESO showed up on the horizon. While I prefer the Elder Scrolls lore over what Carbine created I enjoyed WildStar much more in beta and decided to stick with it. I won’t say it was a mistake, but at that time I didn’t know how little tolerance I have for stories and art styles I don’t like.

I was pretty pumped at the beginning. I liked the lore they had going on, the different species, the unusual combat system, etc etc. Everything felt fresh and exciting. But as soon as I decided on a main and started leveling for real – I wanted to experience the world before I dived into PVP – things started to get extremely … uh … tedious.

Lots of small issues piled up to a giant nuisance for me:

First and biggest: The art style. I’m sorry, but… I loathe it. I can’t simply ignore it, obviously. It’s too bright, too stylized, too… much. Everytime I see WildStar related fanart I think Omfg this looks amazing I want an Aurin or Granok or whatever. But as soon as I log in and find myself provided with only the most basic of character editors on top of the extremely stylized art style they chose to work with I’m repelled.

Leveling also dragged me down a lot. The quests are very much generic. I wouldn’t even mind the lack of innovativeness all that much, but the way they present science and how scientists treat their surroundings hit me – as a dedicated biology student and environmentalist – right where it hurts the most. Putting dynamite on animals? Generally torturing innocents while maintaining the omnipresent comical vibe? Doesn’t make any fucking sense whatsoever and definitely isn’t my definition of fun. This is the stuff my nightmares are made of. Literally.

PVP seems to be in a pretty bad shape too. When I read about the rating-gated armor it made my hair stand on end. It’s all about skill, yada yada. Of course it inevitably ended in a mess. I don’t even want to jump into 50ies PVP with my Stalker.

Last but not least, and I know some people are sick of hearing it: Empty servers. See, I don’t know how many people play on Progenitor, but I know that on my way from 1 to 50 I encountered around 20 players total, counting both factions. This is bad. Even for me as a rather shy player I like being around other people in MMOs, that’s part of why I love them so much.

I could go on about this for hours, but you get the idea. Bottom line is: WildStar is a solid game which has still a lot of potential, but doesn’t match my taste at all. And it makes me a little sad, honestly. The game attracted a bunch of awesome people and as much as I would like to get to know them all, the little fun I have overall doesn’t justify the cost.

Bye bye for now, WildStar. The world changes all the time and maybe change will give us a second chance.

Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

Your text goes here:

