The tale of Ayleid’s Wrath

Main story spoilers ahead.

So, there’s this sword. Its name is Ayleid’s Wrath. It is but a mere quest reward, but a quest reward I’m quite fond of.

It’s the sword King Laloriaran Dynar, the last Ayleid king, gives to you moments before he succumbs to his wounds. I was quite emotionally drawn into the whole Planemeld fight, so I wanted to keep it. I like going through my bank from time to time and look at such items to drown in melancholy. Is that weird?

14024082027028938752_2015-03-31_00251

Anyway – after I wrapped up the last quests on my list for this evening I returned to the Hollow City to empty my bags. Can you smell the fail already? You probably can. You know, I have this addon installed, Dustman. It’s a convenient little thing; it lets you auto-sell all your junk with one click. Which I did. Sword included.
When I read that in the chatbox I just sat there, mouth gaping, not knowing why on earth this addon would sell my preciousss sword. To add insult to injury, it was nowhere to be found after I bought it back. I was convinced I encountered some sort of bug and the item just vanished. Seething I deactivated Dustman and went to bed.

Next day: I had lots of otherwise useless armor in my bags that I wanted to deconstruct. I opened the crafting window and, lo and behold, there it was: Ayleid’s Wrath, right between all the white Brigadier’s swords, daggers and maces. You cannot imagine the joy I felt when I saw that. After semi-screaming at poor Elrion how happy I was I examined the tooltip a little bit more carefully: it said it was in my inventory. But it wasn’t! I looked at the weapons tab and it was not there! I had no further weapons in my bags. That bunch of memorabilia pixels gave me an emotional roller coaster…

And then it struck me: How else could’ve Dustman sold it if it hadn’t marked it as junk? Of course. WHAT ELSE. I changed the tab and there it was, tucked away in the trash section of my inv. I unmarked it and put it safely in my bank. Oh, the drama. You cannot imagine. The homemade fails I go through for fuzzy memories.

14024082027028938752_2015-03-31_00256

Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

Your text goes here:

