Fatigue? Guess not

My books were collecting dust for the last few weeks. This realization made me sad, because it happened rather soon after I rediscovered my love for reading. I thought it was a general reading fatigue… that I read too much in too little time and immediately burnt out again. But it wasn’t just that… it wasn’t my fault…

It was the fault

of THIS BOOK

Image stolen from starwars.wikia.com

I exposed myself to a lot of trashy novels in my life, and the trashiest of them all (well, at least of all the Star Wars books I read) was by far Red Harvest (or Darth Scabrous, as the German title says). I finished even that one, because the level of bad writing was at least amusing. But The Lost Tribe of The Sith is just… well, plain boring. It’s nothing. It’s not funny, it’s not interesting, it’s not exciting or tense or anything! It isn’t even particularly “starwarsy” – it’s its own little, newly fabricated world within our well known universe, without much saber swinging or force wielding… for some this might be refreshing, for me it’s just meh. It’s like a generic fantasy novel with a few Star Wars specific terms sprinkled on top of it.

Long story short: I took this book, without having finished it, and tossed it back onto the shelf. AWAY with this headache inducing piece of boredom.

Phew. After I parted ways with it, something magical happened in a bookstore (again). My hands and bargain bins in bookstores are magnetic. So when I was on my way to the hairdresser’s (to get my sidecut shaved completely, yay) I stopped by a little bookstore which is located in the same street and discovered the second Neverwinter tetralogy book in said bargain bin. I didn’t want to read it right away because I don’t know the first one, but ended up snuggling up on the sofa and glossing over the first few pages anyway. That was enough to completely hook me up again. Whoops!

Reading Fatigue? Guess not.

Published by

ethu

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

Your text goes here:

