The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award, what a strange thing. “Liebster” is the German word for “darling”. Very irritating!

Anyway, I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award by Zernebog! Thanks again! He blogs about SWTOR and tanking stuff, so check out his site if you are interested. He’s also a Sith and likes Twi’leks. Just so you know. He’s cool.

Ravanel, another fellow blogger, describes what the Liebster is about here.

11 Random Facts (about myself):

  1. I hate ketchup. Always hated it. When I was a child you could literally chase me off with it. I think I was born with a ketchup-is-teh-worst gene.
  2. I don’t have earlobe piercings. Where I live it’s very common to get a girl’s earlobes pierced at a very young age, but my mom was adamant that I should get to choose whether I want earrings or not. I didn’t want them. She did force her religion upon me, though.
  3. I have an extra vertrebra. Yes, really. It’s a very flat one right where my spine meets the hipbone.
  4. I have a roomie called Elise. She lives in the bottom right corner of my window and catches all the nasty flies for me.
  5. Being a scientist was my dream job as long as I can remember. As a child I loved the periodic system and learned the scientific names of animals for fun. So you could very well say I’m living my dream now.
  6. 90% of my clique is male.
  7. My bestie and I are nerd hipsters. We read mangas and wrote fanfics before that word even became a thing. At the age of 12/13 we managed an AU with 58 characters together. One of my former blogs was called “Ethu plays” before the term “Let’s play” popped up on YT, too. At the age of 16 I was co-leader and officer in two heavy RP guilds in LOTRO. You see, RP is very important to me.
  8. I had a heart-wrenching (for me) experience involving the bassist of Amon Amarth, his plec and a stupid-ass security person. Okay, that sounds much more dramatic than it actually is… but still. THAT WAS MY PLEC.
  9. Too much coffee makes me feel drunk and that state can last for up to two days.
  10. I met my literal lifesaver online (in LOTRO). If it wasn’t for him, I probably wouldn’t sit here writing this right now.
  11. I love Guinness Draught and voices below 100 Hz.

Zernebog’s 11 Questions (and my answers):

1. If you would get to pick a lightsaber (or blaster for you tech weapons lovers), what color crystal would be in it?

As a lover of everything Sith: red. Beautiful, pure, bright, fiery crimson. The colour that ignites fear in my enemies’ hearts.

2:  Do you prefer PC or Console gaming? Why?

PC all the way. I never liked consoles. Consoles (and console games) are expensive, you can’t do anything else with them, they are outdated rather soon and they’ll never be as efficient as my PC.

3:  What is your favorite game that you have played (board games, console games, mmo’s, table top rpg’s, miniatures, the world is your oyster)? Why?

Single-player RPGs and MMOs. I’m afraid MMOs have killed single players for me, though. I love having other people around, even if I rarely ever group up with them. Just having them “nearby” makes me happy.

4:  Do you consider yourself a “hardcore gamer” or are you more “causual-core”?  Why do you consider yourself such?

While I don’t like these terms because people will use them to fling shit at each other I do think of myself as a casual or a hardcore (or both) player sometimes, depending on my investment. I can be a hardcore RPer/Quester/Explorer at one point and a “casual” but goal-oriented PVPer the next. I’d rather we forget about all that stuff, though.

5: In games, do you have a preference for creating a character of a specific race (dwarf, elf, asura, human etc.)? If you check your characters, which race is in the majority?

Ooh, I like that question – right up my alley. The only time I ever played a human was in LOTRO, because most of the RP happened in and around the Prancing Pony and that’s no place to hang out as an elf. Other than that I never roll a human in any game; they are so horribly boring. I don’t play games to simulate something that I can find when I step out of my door.
Races interest me if: 1. they are elves. rolling an elf is always nice. 2 they have a strong connection to nature 3 they have dragon-like or feline features 4 they are aliens in general (for sci-fi settings). In LOTRO almost all of my toons are elves, in WAR they were elves, in SWTOR all of them are Twi’lek, in WildStar I have Mordesh, Draken and the occasional Aurin, in GW2 all of them are Sylvari. In ESO I play elves and Khajiit. I’d also love to play a Hamadryad in CU!

6:  If you could live in any fictional universe, which would it be? Why?

Can I pick two? Pleeeease? Tolkien’s Middle-Earth and Star Wars. Yes, I’m super original like that. Seriously though, I’ve been obsessed with these two “franchises” (if you will) for far too long to pick anything else. I’ve always had much love for both the fantasy and the sci-fi genre, because they allow me to experience things I would never be able to experience in real life. (If I really had to pick though, I would live in SW as a Twi’lek with all the Tolkien books on my shelf.)

7:  You may choose 3 people (living, dead, or fictional).  One is a dinner guest, one is a lover, and one is your arch enemy. Who are they and why?

Oh dear. Ooh dear. Uhm. Hm. Without overthinking it now, I’d invite Darwin for dinner, have Sheogorath as a lover (that should be fun, right?) and have whoever is cutting down the trees in front of our house right now as my arch enemy. WILL YOU STOP DOING THAT RIGHT THE FUCK NOW.

8:  What inspired you to start your blog in the first place?

In my circle of RL acquaintances playing MMOs regularly is a rare thing, that’s why I started blogging in German, what, four years ago or something. Over time I grew very fond of my little readership that basically consisted of Vanjervalis Chain old hands. Boy do I miss those times. In short, I started blogging because I couldn’t really talk about my MMO shenanigans with my RL friends.

9:  Do you play games for the story, the gameplay, or the social aspect?

Everything. I can be a true allrounder if I want to, which helps when devs start neglecting a certain aspect of an MMO for example.

10:  What is your greatest gaming achievement?

To help lead a heavy RP guild and be known in a community for something special, like my love for Twi’leks or my stories. Maybe winning a duel against a well known and skilled PvPer.

11:  What do you collect (either in the physical or the virtual world)?

Lore and memories.

***

Well, that was fun. I don’t know the international blogging community well and I’m pretty sure most I know have been liebsterized already (half of the ones I thought of by Zernebog himself, tz!). The only one I can think of now, even if she’s not a “conventional” blogger, is Nimitz, who helped me get back into SWTOR. Thanks for that! Because I’m not sure how comfortable she would be answering personal questions and because she seems to like her characters a lot, I thought: why not ask the character Nimitz some? Everyone else with a SWTOR character is cordially invited to answer them, too! I’d be curious to read your replies, either in your blogs or in the comments.

11 questions for the wise Mirialan woman (and everyone else who’s in the mood):

  1. What’s the greatest wisdom a Mirialan (or whatever species you are) can share with others?
  2. Cookies: Slaves of the Dark Side or ambassadors of the Light Side?
  3. If you were forced to stay on one planet forever, which one would it be?
  4. “Hokey religions and ancient weapons are no match for a good blaster at your side, kid.” True or not?
  5. If Theron Shan asks you to draw him like one of your Corellian girls, what do you do?
  6. Has a force user ever tried to play a mind trick on you?
  7. Twi’leks, they are the best. Right? Right?
  8. You hit the cantinas on Nar Shaddaa with your friends, and you hit them hard. A bit too hard, perhaps. Where do you wake up?
  9. What is your greatest achievement in life?
  10. Think of a person you would immediately shove out of an airlock.
  11. I stole your cookie. What do you do?

Edit: Here are Nimitz’ answers!

YuYa4sn

Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

One thought on “The Liebster Award”

Your text goes here:

