New year’s resolutions

2016 serene

2015 was a good year overall. I got my bachelor’s degree, moved to Vienna and enrolled in this absolutely amazing Master’s program I’m so happy to be a part of. I spent a lot of time with my friends. I slowed my brain down considerably and made peace with the fact that I can’t possibly pursue every dream or idea that I have; I set priorities. There have been setbacks too and I definitely could have done without the death of my dog, the accident that destroyed my cat’s eyes and the amount of untimely deaths in my (extended) family, but I still managed to accomplish so much in this time and I’m proud of that. 2015 is in the past now though, so it’s time for some new year’s resolutions.

  • Draw a lot. Ideal would be every day of the year, but it’s okay if it’s less. Maybe enrol in one of the art courses that take place in my institute (scientific art ftw).
  • Exercise. The frequent diseases made me frail, which takes its toll on my mental capacities too. Sound mind in a sound body, as we all now.
  • Get inked and pierced. This is so overdue and now that my infections are gone all I need to do is find a good studio.
  • Slow down even more. Don’t stress over things that don’t deserve it. Focus more on the present; don’t let my mind drift away constantly. Reading, writing, drawing – all that should become much easier that way.

That’s pretty much it. Things like trying out WoW, preparing a costume for gamescom and working on my SSTP are better placed on a regular to-do list than here. 2016 shapes up to be quite an exciting year and I can’t wait to put even more distance between me and the more depression-ridden years I’ve been through. I have a life again and I like it.

As for SWTOR, I’m really not sure what will happen in the next months. KOTFE could have done so much right and did so much wrong, and if the future of this game doesn’t look any better when I’m done with the items that sit on my to-do list right now I’ll probably be gone again. Damn shame, really.

Anyway, happy new year everyone!

Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

One thought on “New year’s resolutions”

Your text goes here:

