Spring cleaning, 2016 edition

I deleted my old blog today. It was time.

I started blogging in German in 2012. My heart was still firmly rooted in LOTRO back then and I needed a place to spill my creative energy.  A blog seemed a suitable canvas.
One google search later I wound up on WordPress, signed up and started carving out my own little virtual niche. I loved it. Building the frame for my content alone is a creative process I enjoy to this day.

My characters would be the centre of everything; that much was clear from the start. In terms of gaming there’s nothing more satisfying for me than carefully crafting my in-game avatars, from the looks to the languages they can speak and or even their eating habits. So I tinkered and drew and wrote and tinkered more, moved from LOTRO to SWTOR and gathered a small but wonderfully talkative Vanjervalis Chain-based readership. Good times, truly. We had lots of fun with pointing fingers at flamers or characters with silly names, discussing server or game-wide events or whatever I came up with concerning my alter egos. Then SWTOR changed and I needed a break. When I came back, I had changed too. I started writing my tweets in English and played on international servers. My silly little blog didn’t belong in this new chapter of my online existence.

This one – the new one – does, though. It’s still in its infancy, but it’s coming along great – and I realized that I’m definitely done with its predecessor. That’s why I backed it up today and subsequently took it down.

Farewell, We Play Roles. You were a great playground that attracted a lot of awesome people to play with.

cropped-clawalone

Published by

ethu

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

Your text goes here:

