On spoilers and being mindful

With Chapter XIV right around the corner  – and since this is something that’s been on my mind for a long time now – let’s talk spoilers.

(Spoiler-)Shit happens. I know that well. My skill level in foolishly spoiling stuff for myself is over 9000; I’ve ruined myself more important twists and events just by browsing wikis than I want to think about. Infuriating, but I only have myself to blame.
Another story, though, is posting KOTFE spoilers on a platform like Twitter for everybody to see, ready or not, an hour after the servers go live, and days before the respective chapter’s actual release date. It happens, and it screwed me over a few times already.

I don’t think that’s fair. In fact, I think it’s common courtesy to at least attach a warning to your spoiler. Friends don’t ruin fun for friends. I mean, there’s a reason we call it a “spoiler”, right?

As the Oxford Dictionaries put it:

spoil (verb)

diminish or destroy the value or quality of.

“I wouldn’t want to spoil your fun”

Personally I usually just stay away from posting anything on a fast-moving platform like Twitter, especially right after the content was released, and use my blog instead. That’s just me, though; I don’t want to dictate what anyone posts on their own profile – far from it!

But I do want to highlight some easy ways to make everybody happy; the early-hype crowd as well as the ones that have to wait:

  1. Use a hashtag. This is a no-brainer. Everybody uses hashtags on Twitter. Examples like #Eurovision have shown that it works well if everybody plays along – people can spam to their heart’s content and others can filter those tweets until they’re ready. May I suggest #KOTFEspoiler?
  2. If you can be bothered, use rot13.com to encrypt your tweets. (Props to the tweeps who use it.)
  3. Create DM groups on Twitter. I did that with my regulars a couple of times in the past and it was quite a lot of fun. Discord would work too.

TL;DR: We have the tools to accommodate everyone. Let’s use ‘em.

Ayy
Let’s be mindful of each other, shall we?
Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

Your text goes here:

