Dark vs. Light

When the Dark vs. Light event was announced I was excited. When the details were released I grew… sceptical.

Launching something that 1. consists of nothing but achievements during an unprecedented content drought and 2. that leaves prolific altoholics with no options but to either spend more money or get their BoP rewards on a throwaway-legacy is something that I find highly irritiating, despite liking the general idea a lot. Binding the community together by making their collective Dark or Light side choices count? Cool, that’s exciting. Touting yet another now-meaningless companion as the grand prize? Not so much. It also confuses me how an event that is obviously targeted at new players is designed to make you rush through the whole base game and beyond. They could have alleviated that at least by giving us a deadline, makes planning easier.

I think it’s pretty clear that I didn’t plan on participating. Everything that involves rushing through (old) content and throwaway-characters is generally very unappealing to me. Well, that was until Elrion asked me to roll a DvL lowbie with him.

dvl-2

Can’t say no to a good friend, right? I recreated my baby smuggler so he’d be flagged for the event and off we went. I have to admit, it’s good for unwinding after a stressful day. Given enough time the vanilla planets regain their charm. Not only that, but most of the flashpoints required for Champion level are entirely new to me.

Speaking of the achievement levels, completing the achievements with a friend did motivate me enough to go for Eternal – even if only to be able to point at the companion later and say “See this? I did all this crap”. I swear, sometime back in 2011 I unknowingly sold a piece of my soul to this game.

dvl-4

We also have our very personal DvL feud going on. His shadow is dark-side while my smuggler is decidedly light-side. Now every time a big Dark or Light choice comes up we intently stare at our conversation /rolls to see who gets to override the other’s decision. It’s pretty entertaining. I’m now officially the nanny who seeks to stop the fallen Jedi  from pursuing a path of death and destruction. Maybe that’s the situation where you say ‘no’ to a good friend. Pity we didn’t keep a tally from the beginning, but even without having the hard numbers we know that the LS choices outnumber the DS ones by far.

I have no idea if I will actually meet all the requirements for the new companion until the deadline – whenever that will be – but I’ll try. We are currently at the SoR-step of my list (he’s already working on Legendary), having completed all pre-SoR flashpoints and stuff. If nothing else it was a good excuse to spend time with a good friend again after some super busy months for both of us.

Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

One thought on “Dark vs. Light”

Your text goes here:

