Inktober 2016

Inktober intrigued me ever since I first encountered the challenge on Tumblr, but at the time I was still in too bad a mental shape to even pick up a pencil, let alone try something new. Thankfully that changed for the better, so this year I was determined to at least try. I could really use the practice; all I can handle with consistent results right now are pure pencil sketches, so it’s high time to work with other materials for a change.

I wasn’t quite sure how to translate my pencil style to the fineliner, so I just tried a bunch of different things, like shading, using multiple tip types for one drawing, playing with line weight, that sort of thing. Line weight especially is a huge challenge for me (as is apparent in some of the awful eeveelution heads below), but I’ll keep trying.

Even though I really wanted to draw something every day in October, I had to admit defeat recently due to time and energy constraints. Still, it was a lot of fun and definitely not my final effort to improve my fineliner skills.

For the first three I used screenshots from call-up here, by the way. More to come.

Klick on the awfully blurry thumbnails to browse through the gallery!

 

Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

4 thoughts on “Inktober 2016”

  1. I already said it on Twitter, but I’m so, so impressed with your drawings. The one you made of my sorc is even my favourite! <3 She is called Fárah.

    I also struggle with line weight a lot, but I think you did a great job, especially on the portraits. Also, the angle of that vaporeon seems tricky to do to me as well, but it looks awesome. :)

    Just out of curiosity from someone who likes to draw herself: did you draw these on paper and then scan them? Or are they made on the computer?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so so much for the kind words, they mean a lot to me. <3 Keeps me motivated to try and improve. :) I sketched them on paper and then used a fineliner for the inking (and scanned it afterwards) – super different from how a pencil behaves, still gives me trouble haha.
        I’ve seen some of your drawings on your blog; hope you get around to upload some more too sometime. :)

        Liked by 1 person

Your text goes here:

