On my original characters and their canon relations

Since there’s no one right way to create OCs in relation to the source material that I feel like explaining my own approach.

My characters are designed to fill the role of an otherwise face- and nameless NPC, so to speak – some more than others, but in general I want to steer clear of any meaningful connections to more or less well-known canon characters or important events that live/occur during their respective periods of existence.

Some connections make sense: my head-canon Ayy experiences the Alliance war up-close and personal since heeding the call of the Mandalore is part of the resol’nare. So if your character would ask Ayy if she’s part of the Alliance, she’d reluctantly nod a yes. There are lots of unnamed people in the Alliance. No problem there. But I’d never play her as if she’d be the Grand Champion of the Great Hunt of her time, or as if Mako, Torian and the others were part of her crew. Imagine two BH players meeting up in-character, getting into a fight over which of them lived the life of the actual, canon BH from the class storyline. That’s a bit silly, right?

Tl;dr: whenever I write something that is not clearly tagged as AU, I’m always referring to the head-canon, lore-conforming versions of my characters.

Published by

sally e. goldfinch

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

Your text goes here:

