On tour with Aric and Lana

Aric and Lana being my Litten and Pikipek in this case (both of whom are fully evolved now). Very stylized/minimalistic styles aren’t my strong suit, but I absolutely had to draw something in tribute to the crazy 20 year Pokemon anniversary. I even fished my decade-old grey ink pens out of my pen drawer for this (that for some reason still haven’t dried out). Haven’t used them in a long time, so practice is in order.

I’ve beaten the league and finished the story already and now I can definitely say that – nostalgic feelings towards Ruby/Sapphire aside – Gen 7 absolutely takes the cake for me. It’s still this precious game that appeals to people of all ages and that, entirely without difficulty settings, can be as easy or as hard as you want it to be – but thanks to the much improved graphics, Gamefreak was also able to tell a story with a whole host of interesting characters that I really came to care about for the first time ever in a Pokemon game. That’s a huge thing for me. I even cared a lot about the cover legendary! They also outdid themselves in regards to the new Pokemon designs methinks.

I should stop before I digress even further.

Pencil, paper and a variety of Faber-Castell ink pens.
Published by

ethu

Level 24 biologist. Has a weakness for non-humans, beer and voices lower than a 100 Hertz.

Your text goes here:

